RSS

Pipe Smoking Poem

21 Nov

by Johann Sebastian Bach

Whene’re I take my pipe and stuff it
And smoke to pass the time away,
My thoughts as I sit there and puff it,
Dwell on a picture sad and grey:
It teaches me that very like
Am I myself unto my pipe.
Like me, this pipe so fragrant burning
Is made of naught but earth and clay;
To earth I too shall be returning.
It falls and, ere I’d think to say,
It breaks in two before my eyes;
In store for me a like fate lies.
No stain the pipe’s hue yet doth darken;
It remains white. Thus do I know
That when to death’s call I must harken
My body too, all pale will grow
To black beneath the sod ’twill turn.
Or when the pipe is fairly glowing,
Behold then, instantaniously,
The smoke off into thin air going,
Till naught but ash is left to see.
Man’s frame likewise away will burn
And unto dust his body turn.
How oft it happens when one’s smoking:
The stopper’s missing from the shelf,
And one goes with one’s finger poking
Into the bowl and burns oneself.
If in the pipe such pain doth dwell,
How hot must be the pains of Hell.
Thus o’er my pipe, in contemplation
Of such things, I can constantly
Indulge in fruitful meditation
And so, puffing contentedly,
On land, on sea, at home, abroad,
I smoke my pipe and worship God.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
Teilhard de Chardin

Exploring Ignatian Spirituality and the intersection of faith, science and reason through the life and writings of Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

OMF Literature

Publishing Truth, Shaping Generations

THE WAYFARER'S NOTES

WRITINGS ABOUT FAITH. SCRIBBLES ABOUT LIFE.

Verba Legis

On Divine and Human Law

DIARYhea

Entries about School, Teaching, Books, Gala, and Girl stuff from POV of a mermaid.

in the air where i heard her voice last, i carved a womb and there i curled up to sleep.

Momma Shares

Meandering stream of thoughts

Aiona Brenette

Of Creative Juices and Other Stuffs

Significantly Different

This is how I overcome.

Tracing Infinities ∞

Cheer up and dry your damp eyes and tell me when it rains / And I'll blend up that rainbow above you and shoot it through your veins

Down The Book Cubbyhole

The Geeky Adventures of a Bookish Girl

kaparokya mo

your parishmate!

This is full of me. What I do, What I am, What I feel and what I want.

daddy's girl

"..and because I am blessed, I am blessing the world.."

Kalakbay at Katoto

Kasama sa Paglalakbay sa Buhay at Pananampalataya

That Stuff On Your Mind's Basement.

reflections ~ random thoughts ~ just sharing stuff

G.I.G.

God is Great

Bookoaths

book reviews, rock and ball

A Tub of Jelly Beans

Take your pick!

Urban Gulaman

Mga kwentong barbero. Tanong ko, sinasagot ko.

Filipino Book Bloggers

Where Filipino book bloggers meet

mrbeancentdblogger

Simpleng Letra, Simpleng Tao, Simpleng Blog

Logodiversity

A Word-Shaker's Field Notes

masolsantiago

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

kaloythoughts

kwentong kusinero

Alamin Mo Kasi

Isang pag-alam ng mga bagay na nakakaapekto sa atin, pagtuklas ng mga bagay na di pa natin nalalaman at paggunita sa mga dati na nating nalalaman.

Apocalypsis Jesu Christi

Defending the church from heresies

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 902 other followers

